The Friday Five – 08.23.02

The Friday Five
1. What is your current occupation? Is this what you chose to be doing at this point in your life? Why or why not?
I am a Veterinary Medical Laboratory Technician….I split my 37 hour week between 2 labs in the pathology department of the Veterinary Hospital of an Ivy League School that shall remain nameless. Short answer, yes this is what I had hoped I’d be doing by now…..long answer, right here 🙂
2. If time/talent/money were no object, what would your dream occupation be?
Not to be blunt or anything….this is my dream occupation – I have a picture of myself somewhere around here dressed up for career day as a lab tech. That was in second grade! I wanted to be a coroner for a while, but alot of what I’m doing now, I’d be doing if I were a coroner (‘cept it’d be people, not animals). Occasionally I think I’d still like to be lighting manager for a touring production of ‘Phantom of the Opera’ but I know me and I’d get tired of that…….
3. What did/do your parents do for a living? Has this had any influence on your career choices?
Aside from working in graphic arts for about 10 years, my mom always had sort of clerical jobs – mortgages, sales, etc. – but for the past ten years or so, she’s been a Customs Inspector. My dad was a sign worker – he made and installed signs on, in and around buildings. He makes it a point to remind me that he put up all the signs in my building 😉
My parents didn’t really influence me….it was my sister. I remember thinking how cool it was that she was learning all that chemistry and anatomy at James Martin (the school she attended to become a tech) and just knew that I wanted to do soething like that…………that was a loooooooong time ago :-
4. Have you ever had to choose between having a career and having a family?
Not yet…..hope I never do. The difficult part about it all has been daycare – I’m counting the days till Brittany starts school – lol 🙂
5. In your opinion, what is the easiest job in the world? What is the hardest? Why?
I dunno about easy…….and I may be a little biased but I think the hardest job in the world has to be that of any Emergency Response…..Police, Fire, EMT, whatever. You know who I mean, the first ones there whenever anything goes wrong. I don’t think I could do it everyday…..especially to deal with assholes like this. And to be paid less than ‘sanitation workers’ for it…..bah :-p
The Friday Five courtesy of Heather – luv ya, hon!!!

Posted on 23|08|2002, in friday five. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment