Aletia/Jaguar

You may remember the problems I was having with Aletia/Jaguar a few months ago…..well, ever since then, I have contacted them repeatedly about the refund they owe me for the months remaining in my contract.
Naturally, they never responded.
Yesterday, I sent them an e-mail threatening that I would file a complaint with the Better Business Bureau and take legal action to recover the money….so of course, they got back to me right away.
And very nicely told me to shove it up my ass, they’d give me a refund after inflating my charges to $9.95 a month, rather than $7.95 a month because I terminated the contract.


Here is the BBB complaint I just filed:

I signed up for a web hosting contract with a company called Aletia, they were later taken over by JaguarPC. From the time Jaguar took over, there were problems with my service the most noticable being consistant downtime.
On October 31st, I found that my other domains hosted with the account were no longer working properly and contacted JaguarPC because the problem was on their end. My understanding is that they changed servers and did not move the additional domains to the new server.
They never replied to my request for assistance.
During the next week, I ran into a myriad of problems including the discovery that about 2 megabytes worth of information that I had stored on my site was lost.
I tried multiple times to contact anyone with JaguarPC to find out what the problem was and to help me fix it but they ignored all requests until I demanded a refund of my money. They effectively cancelled my contract with a blatant termination of service.
When I signed up with Aletia in March, it was at a discounted rate of $7.95 per month for one year for a total of $95.40 – the usual rate is $9.95 per month. I have been going back and forth with them since November about a refund for the months remaining in the year, and once again have been getting no response. I wrote them again yesterday saying that I would be filing a complaint with the BBB and taking legal action to get the money owed me.
They informed me that because I terminated the contract early, I am not entitled to a refund at the rate of $7.95 per month but they were going to be charging me $9.95 a month so rather than a refund of $31.80, they would only be issuing a check in the amount of $15.80.
That is totally unacceptable – they screwed with my domains, lost information that I have yet to recover and ignored repeated inquiries and support requests….to say nothing of the repeated downtime I endured while using the service. I expect a full refund for October thru March at the rate of $7.95 per month.

At this point, I don’t even care now if they do give me all the damn money back….I just want this on the BBB record.
Bunch of losers.
Thank god for Verve

Posted on 25|01|2003, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I am giving up on Aletia finally too. *sigh* I just got double billed, and while I got a refund it took weeks. Their tech support stinks. I also signed up with Verve, and so far I’m so impressed! It hasn’t taken Christine more than an hour to get back to me with a solution to any of my problems… I’m so happy to be making the move finally. 🙂

  2. I recently signed up with CyberPixels and thus far have been very happy with them. Hope your dispute comes to a satisfactory conclusion asap. I’d have filed with BBB as well, the buggers.

  3. That may be one of the few BBB complaints that includes the phrase “screwed with.” I like it. 🙂
    Where are they located, physically? If they were convenient, I’d file against them in small claims just for good measure, the piggies.

  4. Well, the latest is that they are going to refund the $31.80. They decided to do that after I had already filed the ‘false account’ you see above with the BBB. So now they are saying they won’t refund anything until I file a letter with the BBB saying that the matter is resolved and I won’t file the letter till I get the refund.
    I think we may be at a standstill…..let you know tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

