I lay myself down…

Brittany says her night time prayers now….after I read her a story, we pray. But the past few nights, I haven’t been allowed to help.
“I lay myself down to sleep
And pray the Lord
Bless…..”
…and she pauses…and then rattles off…..
“Dada and Mama and Meema and Peepa and Mountain Peepa and Craigy and Mags…(family)
and Rudy and Tiger and Dominic and Sabrina and Lucky and Smiley and Eddie and Dino and MamaCat and Ranger and Deucy…(all the cats)
and Reggie….(the gecko)
and Miss R. and Miss M……(her teachers)
and Miss J. (my boss) and Miss A. and Miss A…..(my other co-wokers that she loves)
and (this is my favorite) Olie and Zowie and Spot and Blue and Slippery and Tickety and Magenta.
A-men!”
Amen is right…..even after we say goodnight and turn off the light I hear her in there either going over the list again or trying to think of more people to bless.
πŸ™‚

Posted on 25|04|2003, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. That is so freakin’ cute!

  2. AAwwww…. πŸ™‚
    Just wanted to send some love your way! πŸ™‚

  3. That’s adorable. I want to start praying with my kids, but it’s so foreign to them. We have to introduce it gradually and gently.
    I wanted to spread the blogger love your way, too. It’s been nice getting to know you via your blog the past couple months.

  4. Heh-heh – thanks for the love, guys!
    Amy, it was actually Brittany that started it. They pray in school before they eat and she started saying her little prayer before we would eat here….one night I just asked her if she would like say a a prayer before bed and she got all excited about it. Of course she thought we’d be saying the same prayer they say before meals πŸ™‚
    I actually think I like her version of the bedtime prayer better….I never did like that “If I should die before I wake…” bit and felt terrible teaching it to Brittany :-

Leave a Reply

