Children’s Books?

Okay….I have a few good classic children’s books to read with Brittany. But I need more. We have “Corduroy”, “Goodnight Moon” and “Guess How Much I Love You” in addition to my childhood favorites…..Brittany still loves to read “Archie” and I have finally found a copy of “Who Wants an Old Teddy Bear Anyway?” that she really enjoys.
I tend to shy away from Dr. Suess books….I do have “O, The Places You’ll Go” but it’s been in my closet for about 3 years. And Brittany really gets a kick out of “The Foot Book” but I never really cared to read Dr. Suess when I was little…..I just like to watch the shows 😉
At this point, I think Brittany is just a little too young for me to get into “A Wrinkle in Time” (though I am in the market for a new copy) but I would like to try “Charlotte’s Web”. she had the movie on tape and played it till it came apart so I was thinking I might order her a new tape and get the book with it….read a chapter or so a night.
I’m wondering about books like “Where the Wild Things Are” and “Harold and the Purple Crayon”, etc. Anybody have any opinions on these? And can you recommend any other “classics” that we might enjoy?

Posted on 28|05|2004, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. i use to like short stories the best. the pokey little puppy just popped into my mind. i have the golden book of children stories and it was in it. i loved dr seuss too. if u have no other objections to dr. seuss than you didnt like to read it when you were young, i’d give it a go. i use to love this book about snow too. my mom bought it twice cuz i wore that book out. i think it was called the first day of snow.

  2. we loved The Littles Series when we were young, and the Bunnicula series by James Howe. Also the Bobbsey Twins and The Boxcar Children were some other favorites.

Leave a Reply

