3 Years

Three years ago, I was just starting the day….a Sunday morning…our first Sunday morning in our new apartment.  We were getting breakfast together and figuring out what to do for the day when my mom called to tell me that my cousin Mare was dead…..that she’d been killed in a hit and run on Aramingo Avenue.  I didn’t believe her, they weren’t sure at that time and I knew it was just a mistake.  But when I got down to my cousin Kassy’s house, I knew it was no mistake.

Three years ago, Mary Cram was taken away from her family and friends….just shy of her 39th birthday.  Her children, her mother, brothers and sisters, nieces and nephews, aunts and uncles and cousins – and “adopted sisters”! – waited for more than a year for an arrest to be made in the case….and even though someone has been “brought to justice” for her tragic death, we will never recover from the loss and we will never forget her.

God bless, Mare…..say one for all of us!!

Posted on 05|11|2009, in nablopomo. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

